FCC Announces the Membership and First Meeting of the Technological Advisory Council

Federal Communications Commission Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel has appointed members to serve on the Technological Advisory Council (TAC). The TAC is comprised of a diverse group of leading technology experts. It provides technical expertise to the Commission to identify important areas of innovation and develop informed technology policies supporting the United States’ competitiveness in the global economy.  The TAC will consider and advise the Commission on topics such as continued efforts at looking beyond 5G advanced as 6G begins to develop so as to facilitate US leadership; studying advanced spectrum sharing techniques, including the implementation of artificial intelligence and machine learning to improve the utilization and administration of spectrum; and other emerging technologies. Dean Brenner, a former executive at Qualcomm, serves as Chairman of the Council. Martin Doczkat, Chief of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Division in the Office of Engineering and Technology, serves as the Designated Federal Officer. Sean Yun, Deputy Chief of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Division in the Office of Engineering and Technology, is the Alternate Designated Federal Officer. 

Members of the Technological Advisory Council

(Chair) Dean Brenner, Special Government Employee • Shahid Ahmed, Executive Vice President, New Ventures and Innovation, NTT LTD, representing NTT • Rob Alderfer, Vice President, Technology Policy, Charter Communications, Inc., representing Charter Communications, Inc. • Mark Bayliss, President, Visual Link Internet, representing Visual Link Internet • Donna Bethea-Murphy, Senior VP of Global Regulatory Affairs, Viasat, representing Viasat • Michael Cataletto, Chief Technology Officer, Scientel Solutions, representing Scientel Solutions • Ranveer Chandra, Managing Director, Industry Research, Microsoft, representing Microsoft • Lynn Claudy, Senior Vice President of Technology, National Association of Broadcasters, representing the National Association of Broadcasters • Andrew Clegg, Chief Technology Officer, Wireless Innovation Forum, representing the Wireless Innovation Forum • Martin Cooper, Chairman, Dyna LLC, representing Dyna LLC • Carlos Cordeiro, Intel Fellow and Wireless Chief Technology Officer for Client Computing, Intel Corporation, representing Intel Corporation • Brian Daly, Assistant Vice President, AT&T Services, representing AT&T • Bill Davenport, Senior Director of Technology and Spectrum Policy, Cisco Systems, representing Cisco Systems • Jay Desai, Head of Central Technology Organization, Amazon, representing Amazon • Skyler Ditchfield, CEO and Co-Founder, GeoLinks, representing GeoLinks • Peter Gammel, Chief Executive Officer, Ubilite, Inc, representing Ubilite, Inc. • Monisha Ghosh, Co-Director, the Wireless Institute, University of Notre Dame, representing the Wireless Institute • Iain Gillott, Senior Research and Technical Advisor, Wireless Infrastructure Association, representing Wireless Infrastructure Association • Abhimanyu Gosain, Senior Director, Institute for the Wireless Internet of Things, Northeastern University, representing Northeastern University • Dick Green, Director, Liberty Global Inc., representing Liberty Global • Lisa Guess, Senior Vice President of Global Sales Engineering, Cradle Point, representing Ericsson North America • Sachin Gupta, Director of Business and Economic Development, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, representing National Rural Electric Cooperative Association • David Gurney, Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Motorola Solutions, representing Motorola Solutions • Dale Hatfield, Executive Fellow, Technology, Cybersecurity and Policy Program in the college of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado at Boulder, representing the Technology, Cybersecurity and Policy Program • Jason Jackson, Distinguished Engineer and Vice President, Kyndryl, representing Kyndryl • Richard Kessler, Chief Technology Officer of Security and Advanced Technology, Marvell Technology, Inc., representing Marvell Technology, Inc. • Karri Kuoppamaki, Senior Vice President, Technology Development and Strategy, T-Mobile, representing T-Mobile • Tian Lan, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, George Washington University, serving as a Special Government Employee • Gregory Lapin, Chair, ARRL RF Safety Committee, representing ARRL – The National Association for Amateur Radio • Mike Laskowsky, Board Member, Rural Wireless Association, representing Rural Wireless Association • Jason Livingood, Vice President of Technology Policy Product and Standards, Comcast Corporation, representing Comcast Corporation • Jennifer Manner, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Hughes Network Systems, representing Hughes Network Systems • Daniel Mansergh, North American Regulatory and Spectrum Lead, Apple, representing Apple • Brian Markwalter, Vice President Research & Standards, Consumer Electronics Association, representing the Consumer Electronics Association • Lynn Merrill, President and Chief Executive Officer, Monte R. Lee and Company, representing NTCA • Amit Mukhopadhyah, Senior Spectrum Standardization Officer, Nokia, representing Nokia • Jack Nasielski, Qualcomm Incorporated, representing Qualcomm Incorporated • Bridget Neville, Senior VP and GM of Signal Distribution Engineering, Sirius XM Radio Inc., representing Sirius XM Radio Inc. • Roger Nichols, Senior 6G Program Executive, Keysight Technologies, representing Keysight Technologies • Madeleine Noland, President, Advanced Television Systems Committee, representing the Advanced Television Systems Committee • Timothy O’Shea, Chief Technology Officer and Co-Founder, DeepSig Inc., representing DeepSig, Inc. • Bejoy Pankajakshan, Chief Technology Officer and Strategy Officer, Mavenir Systems, Inc., representing Mavenir Systems, Inc. • Jon Peha, Professor, Carnegie Mellon University, representing Metro21, Smart Cities Institute • Robert Rainhart, President, HawkEye 360, Inc., representing HawkEye 360, Inc. • Michael Regan, Vice President of Business Performance of the QuEST Forum, Telecommunications Industry Association, representing Telecommunications Industry Association • Thomas Sawanobori, Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, CTIA, representing CTIA • Henning Schulzrinne, Professor of Computer Science, Columbia University, serving as a Special Government Employee • LiChing Sung, Telecommunications Specialist, National Telecommunications and Information Administration, representing National Telecommunications and Information Administration • Ardavan Tehrani, Director of Engineering, Samsung, representing Samsung • Rikin Thakker, Senior Vice President of Technology and Chief Technology Officer, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association, representing NCTA – The Internet & Television Association • Michelle Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, Open Research Institute, representing the Open Research Institute • David Young, Vice President of Technology and Solutions, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions, representing the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions

FCC Announces Membership and First Meeting of TAC