Oversight of the Federal Communications Commission: Media Ownership

Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet Hearing
9:30 a.m. in room 2322 Rayburn House Office Building

The House Commerce Committee announced that it will hold a hearing to explore issues relating to media ownership and the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) pending media ownership proceeding.

“The decision about how many media outlets can be owned by one person or company is not a decision to be taken lightly,” said Rep. John D. Dingell (D-MI), Chairman of the Committee on Energy and Commerce. “The Committee intends to ensure that the FCC considers this matter carefully and thoughtfully.”

“A diversity of viewpoints in the media is important to a free flow of information in our democracy”, said Rep. Bart Stupak (D-MI), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations. “As Chairman of the Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee, I intend to look carefully at how the FCC has approached media ownership issues and ensure that the FCC's media ownership studies provide a balanced accounting of the facts, not one-sided justification for more media concentration.”

“Media diversity and localism are vital to the citizens of the country and critical to vibrant civic discourse, and independent local news and information in communities around the nation,” said Rep. Edward Markey (D-MA), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Telecommunications and the Internet. “Congress has an important role to play in reviewing any proposal that will impact the acceptable level of concentration of media properties in a community. I look forward to this hearing and the opportunity to publicly review and debate any FCC proposals for new ownership rules.”


  • All five of the FCC Commissioners
  • John Sturm, Newspaper Association of America;
  • Juan Gonzalez, former president, National Association of Hispanic Journalists;
  • Faye Williams, National Congress of Black Women;
  • Andrew J. Schwartzman, Media Access Project;
  • Sidney Bliss, Bliss Communications;
  • Jerald Fritz, Allbritton Communications; and
  • Andrew Levin, Clear Channel Communications.