FCC Diversity Advisory Committee

FCC Announces Renewal of Diversity Committee’s Charter,
Appointment of Members to the Re-Chartered Committee; and
Scheduling of December 21, 2006 Committee Meeting

Washington, D.C.: This Public Notice serves as notice that, consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Federal Communications Commission has renewed the charter of the Commission’s Advisory Committee on Diversity for Communications in the Digital Age (“Diversity Committee”) for a period of two years through December 5, 2008. The list of members of the re-chartered Diversity Committee is attached.

In addition, the Diversity Committee is scheduled to hold a meeting on December 21, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. E. T. in the Commission Meeting Room at the Federal Communications Commission, TW-C305, 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20554. At this meeting, the Diversity Committee will discuss and consider possible areas in which to develop recommendations that will further enhance the ability of minorities and women to participate in the telecommunications and related industries.

Finally, this Public Notice serves as notice that Lisa M. Fowlkes and Barbara Kreisman are the Designated Federal Officer and Alternate Designated Federal Officer, respectively, of the Diversity Committee.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The December 21, 2006 meeting is open to members of the general public. The Commission will attempt to accommodate as many people as possible. Admittance, however, will be limited to the seating available. Real Audio access to the meeting will be available at www.fcc.gov/

Written Comments: Members of the public may submit written comments before the meeting to: Lisa M. Fowlkes, Designated Federal Officer, at [email protected] or by U.S. Postal Mail (FCC, Room 7-C753, 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20554).

People with Disabilities: Open captioning will be provided for this event. Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. Requests for such accommodations should be submitted via e-mail to [email protected] or by calling the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at (202) 418-0530 (voice), (202) 418-0432 (tty). Such requests should include a detailed description of the accommodation needed. In addition, please include a way we can contact you if we need more information. Please allow at least five days advance notice; last minute requests will be accepted, but may be impossible to fill.

Publicly available documents regarding the Diversity Committee are available for inspection and copying at the FCC Public Reference Room, CY-A257, 445 12th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20554. In addition, information about the Diversity Committee, including selected publicly available documents, can be found at www.fcc.gov/DiversityFAC

For additional information, please contact: Lisa M. Fowlkes, ((202) 418-7452 or [email protected])


Lisa M. Fowlkes, Designated Federal Officer
Barbara Kreisman, Alternate Designated Federal Officer

Henry Rivera
Emma Bowen Foundation for Minority Interests in Media


Daryl E. Bassett
Arkansas Public Service Commission

Matthew Blank
Showtime Network

Maria E. Brennan
American Women in Radio & Television

Sheba Chacko
BT Americas, Inc.

Abel Guerra
Latino Coalition

Salvador Guzman
WHEW Radio

David Honig
Minority Media & Telecommunications Council

Rodney Hood
National Credit Union Administration

Paul Jones
Time Warner Telecom

Rebecca A. Klein
Loeffler Tuggey Pauerstein Rosenthal, LLP

Marc S. Lampkin
Quinn Gillespie & Associates

Marie Long

Vonya McCann
Sprint Nextel

Robert Mendez
ABC Television Network

Max Navarro
Operational Technologies Corporation

Andrew Schwartzman
Media Access Project

Tara Sweeney
Arctic Slope Regional Corporation

Kade Twist
Native Laboratories

Margarita Wilder
Entravision Communications

James Winston
National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters