Appointment of Membership of Third Term of the Disability Advisory Committee

Federal Communications Commission Chairman Ajit Pai appointed members for the third two-year term of the FCC’s Disability Advisory Committee. Will Schell, Attorney Advisor, Disability Rights Office (DRO), Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), will continue to serve as the Designated Federal Officer (DFO) of the DAC, and Debra Patkin, Attorney Advisor, DRO, CGB, will serve as the deputy DFO of the DAC.

Co-Chairs: Brian Scarpelli, Senior Policy Counsel ACT – the App Association Isidore Niyongabo, Director of Advocacy and Public Engagement National Black Deaf Advocates

Individual Name and Title and Organization Represented:

  • Townsend Davis, Assistant Chief Counsel ABC, Inc./The Walt Disney Company Brian Scarpelli, Senior Policy Counsel Alternate: Joel Thayer, Policy Counsel ACT – the App Association
  • Paul W. Schroeder, Vice President, Public Policy and Strategic Initiatives Alternate: Daniel B. Frye, Director, Public Sector Engagement and Strategy Aira Tech Corporation
  • Margaret A. Nygren, Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
  • Anthony Stephens, Director of Advocacy and Governmental Affairs Alternate: Claire Stanley, Outreach and Advocacy Specialist American Council of the Blind
  • Sarah Malaier, Public Policy and Research Advisor Alternate: Stephanie Enyart, Chief Public Policy and Research Officer American Foundation for the Blind
  • Maria Kirby, Senior Policy Counsel Alternate: Sarah Herrlinger, Director, Global Accessibility Policy and Initiatives Apple, Inc.
  • Linda Vandeloop, Assistant Vice President, External Affairs and Regulatory Alternate: Susan Mazrui, Director of Public Policy AT&T
  • Joel Snyder, President, Audio Description Associates, LLC Alternate: Bill Parks, President, Dominion Post, Inc. Audio Description Associates, LLC
  • Carl Richardson, Member of Boston Disability Commission Advisory Board City of Boston
  • Michael Strecker, Vice President of Regulatory and Strategic Policy Alternate: Rita Beier, Vice President of Operations ClearCaptions
  • Thomas Wlodkowski, Vice President, Accessibility and Multicultural Technology and Products Alternate: Jerry Parkins, Senior Director of Technology and Standards Alternate: Chris Wendt, Director and Lead Architect for Comcast IP Communications Comcast
  • Rachel Nemeth, Director, Regulatory Affairs Alternate: Rehan Ehsan, Senior Director, Technology and Standards Consumer Technology Association
  • Jeff Rosen, General Counsel Convo Communications, LLC
  • Gregory Hlibok, Chief Legal Officer Alternate: Mark Stern, Director of Product Development CSDVRS, LLC
  • Kara Graves, Director, Regulatory Affairs Alternate: Matthew Gerst, Assistant Vice President, Regulatory Affairs CTIA - the Wireless Association
  • Amita Srinivasan, Secretary Alternate: Mussie Gabre, President DeafBlind Citizens in Action
  • Maria Victoria Diaz, President Alternate: Lourdes Fiallos, Executive Director, Dicapta Foundation
  • Dicapta Christian Vogler, Director Alternate: Linda Kozma-Spytek, Senior Research Audiologist Alternate: Raja Kushalnagar, Program Chair, Information Technology, Department of Science, Technology and Mathematics Gallaudet University Technology Access Program
  • Dixie Ziegler, Vice President of Relay Alternate: Beth Slough, Director of Account Management and Compliance Manager Hamilton Relay, Inc.
  • Lise Hamlin, Director of Public Policy Alternate: Barbara Kelley, Executive Director Hearing Loss Association of America
  • Sam Joehl, Principal Accessibility Consultant Alternate: Owen Edwards, Senior Accessibility Consultant Level Access
  • Rebecca Rosenthal, Telecommunications Resources Program Manager, State of North Carolina Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Alternate: Rochelle Garrow, Telecommunications Access Minnesota Administrator, Minnesota Department of Commerce National Association for State Relay Administration
  • Joshua N. Pila, General Counsel, Local Media Group, Meredith Corporation Alternate: Larry Walke, Associate General Counsel, National Association of Broadcasters National Association of Broadcasters
  • Zainab Alkebsi, Policy Counsel Alternate: Howard Rosenblum, Chief Executive Officer National Association of the Deaf
  • Isidore Niyongabo, Director of Advocacy and Public Engagement National Black Deaf Advocates
  • Darlene Parker, Director of Steno Captioning and Realtime Relations Alternate: Beth Nubbe, Senior Vice President for Finance, Administration, and Human Resources National Captioning Institute, Inc.
  • Everette Bacon, President of the National Federation of the Blind of Utah National Federation of the Blind
  • Brian Trager, Associate Director, National Technical Institute for the Deaf (NTID) Center on Access Technology Alternate: Gary Behm, Interim Associate Vice President, NTID Academic Affairs Rochester Institute of Technology, NTID Center on Access Technology
  • Michael D. Maddix, Director of Government and Regulatory Affairs, Sorenson Communications, LLC Alternate: Bruce Peterson, Vice President of Marketing, CaptionCall Sorenson Communications, LLC
  • Dennis Selznick, Business Development Manager Alternate: Claudia Gordon, Senior Manager, Government and Compliance Sprint Corporation
  • Claude Stout, Executive Director, Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc. Alternate: Blake Reid, Assistant Clinical Professor, Director, Samuelson-Glushko Technology Law & Policy Clinic, Colorado Law Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc.
  • Savannah Schaefer, Policy Counsel, Government Affairs Alternate: Colin Andrews, Policy Counsel, Government Affairs Telecommunications Industry Association
  • Shellie Blakeney, Director, Federal Regulatory Affairs Department T-Mobile USA
  • Pamela Y. Holmes, Executive Director, Consumer & Regulator Affairs & Captel Customer Service Ultratec, Inc.
  • Zack Bastian, Manager, Public Policy and Strategic Alliances Alternate: Ian Dillner, Associate General Counsel, Senior Vice President, Regulatory Affairs Verizon Communications, Inc.
  • Heather York, Vice President, Government Affairs Alternate: Brittany Winland, Director of Marketing Communications VITAC

Ex Officio Federal Government Representatives (Non-Voting Members)

  • Timothy P. Creagan, Senior Accessibility Specialist Alternate: Bruce Bailey, ICT Accessibility Specialist U.S. Access Board
  • Brianne Burger, Director and Liaison to the Special Institutions Alternate: Johnny Collett, Assistant Secretary U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
  • Gay Jones, Disability Integration Communications Specialist, Office of Disability Integration and Coordination U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Appointment of Membership of Third Term of the Disability Advisory Committee