IP3 Awards

Public Knowledge

Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 6:30pm
Time Zone: 
Virtual Event

The IP3 Awards is a special occasion to honor those who have made significant contributions in the three areas of IP: Intellectual Property, Information Policy, and Internet Protocol. This year will be the 18th year Public Knowledge has held the awards, and we can’t wait to celebrate with you. PK will be holding this year’s event virtually, but will be using an interactive platform to give it an “in-person” feel! We will also be collecting your home address in your registration in order to send you a Gift Bag for the event.

The Information Policy Award will be presented to Joy Buolamwini, founder of the Algorithmic Justice League.

The Intellectual Property Award will be posthumously presented to Sherwin Siy. He was a tech policy activist whose expertise spanned a range of fields including copyright, privacy, telecommunications, and free expression.

The Internet Protocol Award will be presented to Chris Mitchell, Director of the Community Broadband Networks Initiative with the Institute for Local Self-Reliance in Minneapolis.

And the President's Award will be presented to Senator Amy Klobuchar — one of the Senate’s foremost leaders on tech issues like platform regulation and broadband opportunity.

If you have additional questions or are interested in being a sponsor of the 2021 IP3 Awards, please email michele@publicknowledge.org