FCC's Technological Advisory Council


Agenda –Third Meeting
Thursday, October 27, 2005
Federal Communications Commission Meeting Room
The Portals, 445 12th Street, SW
Washington, D.C.

10:00 AM- Opening: Jeffery Goldthorp, DFO (FCC Designated Federal Officer)

10:05- Introductions and Commission Representatives,
Opening Remarks: Robert Lucky, Chairman, and TAC Members

Meeting Focus: Resilient Communications and Emerging Public Alerting Systems

10:15 – Service Provider Viewpoint: Richard Lynch, EVP and CTO, Verizon Wireless

10:45 – Service Provider Viewpoint: Gary Ludgood, VP, Integrated Network Planning and Implementation BellSouth

11:15 – Equipment Supplier Viewpoint: Steve Alexander, SVP, CTO, Ciena Corp.

11:45 - Open Discussion: TAC Members and Speakers

12:15 - 1:15 PM -Break-

1:15 - Open Discussion: TAC Members and Speakers

1:45 - Integrated Public Alert and Warning: Kevin G. Briggs Director, System (IPAWS)Readiness Division, Federal Emergency Management Agency
2:15 – Open Discussion: TAC Members and Speakers

2:45-Topics for next meeting: Commission and TAC Members

3:00 PM- Adjourn: Jeffery Goldthorp, DFO

The Council was formed to provide the Commission with technical insights concerning innovations in communications and related industries. The Council is a Federal Advisory Committee and is comprised of a broad array of well-known technologists and chaired by Dr. Robert Lucky. At this meeting, the Council will consider advanced emergency alerting technologies and survivable network services and technologies.

Members of the general public may attend to observe the meeting. The Federal Communications Commission will attempt to accommodate as many persons as possible. Admittance, however, will be limited to the seating available. There will be no public oral participation unless requested by the Chair, but the public may submit written comments to Jeffery Goldthorp, the Federal Communications Commission’s Designated Federal Officer for the Technological Advisory Council, before the meeting. Mr. Goldthorp’s e-mail address is [email protected] and Mr. Goldthorp’s U.S. Postal Service mail delivery address is Federal Communications Commission, 445 12th Street, SW., Room 7-A325, Washington, DC 20554.

Open captioning will be provided for this event. Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. Include a description of the accommodation you will need including as much detail as you can. Also include a way we can contact you if we need more information. Make your request as early as possible; please allow at least 5 days advance notice. Last minute requests will be accepted, but may be impossible to fill. Send an e-mail to [email protected] or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau:
For sign language interpreters, CART, and other reasonable accommodations: 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (tty)
For accessible format materials (braille, large print, electronic files, and audio format): 202-418-0531 (voice), 202-418-7365 (tty)

For further information, contact Jeffery Goldthorp at 202-418-1096 voice, 202-418 2989 TTY, 202-418-1944 FAX. RealAudio access to the meeting and other information about the Technological Advisory Council may be obtained through the Commission’s web site http://www.fcc.gov.