Education Technology Policy Summit

Consortium for School Networking, International Society for Technology in Education, State Educational Technology Directors Association, Software & Information Industry Association
Wednesday, March 3, 2010
8:00 - 10:30 AM

With the Enhancing Education Through Technology (EETT) program zeroed out in the Obama Administration's FY 2011 budget proposal and proposed to be eliminated in Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) reauthorization, the need for reinvigorating the federal role in educational technology policy is pressing. Eighty education leaders representing 25 states will visit Capitol Hill on Wednesday, March 3rd for the Washington hosted by the Consortium for School Networking (CoSN), the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), the State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) and the Software & Industry Information Association (SIIA). Among the issues to be addressed during the Summit are restoring funding for EETT, ESEA reauthorization, the Achievement Through Technology and Innovation Act (ATTAIN) and E-Rate.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010
8:00 - 10:30 AM

Keynote Speakers:
Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Roberto Rodríguez, Special Assistant to President Obama for Education, White House Domestic Policy Council

Remarks by:

  • Kari Arfstrom, Chief Membership/Marketing Officer, CoSN
  • Leslie Conery, Deputy Executive Director, ISTE
  • Doug Levin, Executive Director, SETDA
  • Mark Schneiderman, Director of Education Policy, SIIA

Registration and breakfast begin at 8:00 AM. A welcome address will be delivered. Mr. Rodriguez will be introduced and deliver remarks, followed by a Congressional staff panel discussion. The keynote address will be delivered by Senator Shaheen. Following the formal program, state representatives will receive issue briefings and then conduct individual meetings with members of Congress.

Interested press should contact Jennifer Cummings at [email protected] or