10th Anniversary of the Communications and Video Accessibility Act

Federal Communications Commission

10/08/2020 - 14:00 to 16:00
Add to Calendar

The Federal Communications Commission will recognize the 10th anniversary of the CVAA and its importance in building a more accessible telecommunications world for people with disabilities. 

During the event, winners of 2020 Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) will be recognized for their contributions to the advancement of accessible communications. In addition to the awards ceremony, the event will include a panel discussion on the CVAA’s major milestones and a look at the challenges that lie ahead. The Panel will feature the FCC’s: Diane Burstein, Deputy Chief, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB); Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief, CGB Disability Rights Office (DRO) and Will Schell, Attorney-Advisor, DRO; and the co-chairs of the Disability Advisory Committee, Isidore Niyongabo and Brian Scarpelli.

2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. (EDT) Panel Discussion on CVAA Milestones

3:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. (EDT) Break

3:15 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (EDT) The Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA)

Registration is not required. To watch the event, visit www.fcc.gov/live on October 8th. To ask questions during the panel session, please e-mail your questions to [email protected].