Benton Foundation Welcomes Jim Kohlenberger to Board of Directors

The Benton Foundation is honored to announce that former White House staffer Jim Kohlenberger has agreed to join our Board of Directors. Most recently, Kohlenberger served as Chief of Staff of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) under Director Dr. John Holdren. While in the White House, he helped craft the President’s innovation strategy, advanced policies to help spur a mobile broadband revolution through spectrum reform, worked to secure cyberspace, helped put the U.S. space program on a bold new course for the future, and sought to harness innovation as an engine of economic growth and opportunity for all Americans.

From 2004-2008, Kohlenberger was a Senior Fellow at Benton. In that position, he guided Benton's media policy work and strengthened the foundation's collaborations in the field. Kohlenberger headed Benton's advocacy for universal, affordable broadband, tangible public interest obligations for digital broadcasters, diversified media ownership and open communications networks. Previously, Kohlenberger helped shape the Clinton Administration's approach to the Internet. He served as Vice President Al Gore's senior domestic policy adviser and worked to help pass and implement the Telecommunications Act of 1996. Before joining OSTP, Kohlenberger was executive director of the Voice on the Net (VON) Coalition, and ran his own innovation focused consulting practice.

In his new role, Kohlenberger will assist in the governance of the Benton Foundation. In addition, he will join the Board's Program Committee, headed by Elizabeth Daley, dean of the School of Cinematic Arts, University of Southern California. This committee is charged with providing guidance and direction for the programmatic efforts undertaken by Benton staff. Also serving on the Program Committee are Henry Rivera, former FCC commissioner and partner, Wiley Rein, LLP, and Joanne Hovis, president of Columbia Telecommunications Corp., and president-elect of the National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA).