Workshop on Cybersecurity Roadmap (updated w/agenda)

Workshop on Cybersecurity Roadmap

Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau
Federal Communications Commission
Friday, November 5, 2010
9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Updated info:

The National Broadband Plan (Plan) included a recommendation that the FCC issue a Cybersecurity Roadmap to identify the five most critical cybersecurity threats to the communications infrastructure and its end-users, and develop a plan to address those threats. The workshop/webinar will help facilitate input from panelists and the public about what should be included in the cybersecurity roadmap.


9:00 am—Welcome

9:15 am— First Panel Discussion: Security Vulnerabilities of Core Networks
This panel will explore cybersecurity issues related to the underlying communications network that enables interconnectivity, including secure routing and directory services. The communications infrastructure, like other critical infrastructures, is under constant assault by malicious traffic and is known to harbor a number of potentially disabling vulnerabilities.

Moderator: Jeffery Goldthorp, PSHSB, FCC

  • Ed Amoroso, Senior Vice President & Chief Security Officer, AT&T
  • Dale Drew, Vice President & Chief Security Officer, Level 3
  • Andy Ellis, Senior Director of Information Security & Chief Security Architect, Akamai
  • James Lewis, Senior Fellow & Program Director, Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
  • Andy Ogielski, President, Renesys

10:45 am—Second Panel Discussion: Security Vulnerabilities at the Edge
This panel will focus on identifying the key security vulnerabilities from an end-user's perspective, whether enterprise or residential. This panel will explore: (1) ways to increase the situational and operational awareness of reliability and security of broadband communications networks for both ISPs and government entities; (2) how to create greater incentives for ISPs to implement fully critical network security practices, protocols and technologies necessary to protect core communications networks from intrusion and exploitation; and (3) what ISPs are doing to help consumers deal with cyber security threats and incidents..

Moderator: Jeffery Goldthorp, PSHSB, FCC

  • Michael Barrett, Chief Information Security Officer, PayPal, Inc.
  • Rodney Joffe, Senior Vice President & Senior Technologist, NeuStar
  • Bill McInnis, Director, Data Services, Internet Identity
  • John Morris, General Counsel, Center for Democracy & Technology
  • Michael O'Reirdan, Distinguished Engineer, Comcast
  • Ari Schwartz, Senior Internet Policy Advisor, NIST

12:00 pm—Closing Remarks/Adjourn

The workshop/webinar will be open to the public; however, admittance will be limited to the seating available. Those individuals who are interested in attending this event in person must pre-register on-line at Those who pre-register will be asked to provide their name, title, organization affiliation, and contact information. Individuals may also contact Deandrea Wilson at [email protected] or via phone at 202-418-0703 regarding pre-registration. The deadline for pre-registration is Wednesday, November 3, 2010.

Audio/video coverage of the meeting will be broadcast live with open captioning over the Internet from the FCC's web page at The FCC's webcast is free to the public. Those who watch the live video stream of the event may email event-related questions to [email protected]. Depending on the volume of questions and time constraints, the panel moderators will work to respond to as many questions as possible during the workshop.

Reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request. Please include a description of the accommodation you will need. Individuals making such requests must include their contact information should FCC staff need to contact them for more information. Requests should be made as early as possible. Please send an e-mail to [email protected] or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau: 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (TTY). For additional information about the meeting, please contact Susan McLean at (202) 418-7868 or by email: [email protected].