Workshop On E911 Phase II Location Accuracy (rescheduled; updated agenda)

Workshop On E911 Phase II Location Accuracy

Federal Communications Commission
Monday, November, 18, 2013
9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Much more info here:

Monday, November, 18, 2013, the FCC’s Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau will host a public workshop to discuss recent developments in the use of wireless technology to contact emergency services. The workshop will explore current trends that may be affecting the provision and quality of 911 location information delivered to Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs), including the increased volume of wireless 911 calls and the increase in wireless calls originating from indoor locations.

9:30 a.m.: Welcoming and Opening Remarks -- David S. Turetsky, Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

9:45 a.m.: Overview of Technical Process for Generation and Delivery of E911 Location Information
Presentation: John Snapp, Senior Technical Officer and Vice President, Intrado Corporation

10:00 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.: Topic 1: Improving E911 Location Information
Moderator: David Furth, Deputy Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

Presentations: Public Safety Perspectives (10:00 – 10:35 am)

  • Karen Wong - Assistant Director, Public Safety Communications, Governor’s Office of Emergency Services, State of California
  • Lisa Hoffmann - Deputy Director, Division of Emergency Communications, Department of Emergency Management, City & County of San Francisco
  • Renee Hardwick - Director, Horry County Emergency Management Department, Horry County, South Carolina
  • Terry Hall - Director of Emergency Communications, York-Poquoson-Williamsburg ECC (on behalf of Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO))
  • Brian Fontes - Chief Executive Officer, National Emergency Number Association (NENA)

Presentations: Wireless Carrier Perspectives (10:35-11:00 am)

  • Kelly Springer - Director of Regulatory Technology Development, AT&T Labs
  • Jeanna Green - Network Development Engineer, Sprint
  • Ryan Jensen - Director of Technology and Compliance, T-Mobile
  • Susan Sherwood - Manager of E911 Network & Engineering Operations, Verizon Wireless

11:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m.: Break

Roundtable Discussion (11:15 a.m. -12:30 p.m.)

12:30 – 1:30 p.m.: Lunch

1:30 – 3:30 p.m.: Topic 2: Advancements in Location Information Technologies
Moderator: Timothy May, E911 Projects Manager, Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau

Presentations: (1:30 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.)

  • Ganesh Pattabiraman - Co-Founder and President, NextNav
  • Kirk Burroughs - Senior Director of Technology, Qualcomm Engineering Services Group
  • Rob Anderson - Chief Technology Officer, TruePosition
  • Timothy Lorello – Senior Vice President, Chief Marketing Officer, TeleCommunication Systems (TCS)
  • Carol Politi - Chief Executive Officer, TRX Systems, Inc.

2:15 -2:30 p.m.: Break

Roundtable Discussion (2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.)