Spectrum Management Advisory Committee

Department of Commerce
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW Room 4813
Washington, DC 20230
December 9, 2009
9:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m

The Committee is expected to hear presentations on spectrum related issues from representatives of the Federal Communications Commission and from NTIA staff. It also will receive status reports from its subcommittees on work plans and benchmarks. There also will be an opportunity for public comment at the meeting.

The Committee provides advice to the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information on needed reforms to domestic spectrum policies and management to enable the introduction of new spectrum-dependent technologies and services, including long-range spectrum planning and policy reforms for expediting the American public's access to broadband services, public safety, and digital television.


9:30 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Dale Hatfield and Bryan Tramont, CSMAC Co-Chairs
Lawrence E. Strickling, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information

9:40 a.m. Presentations

9:40 a.m. Bruce Gottlieb, Chief Counsel and Senior Legal Advisor to Chairman Julius Genachowski, Federal Communications Commission

10:10 a.m. Karl Nebbia, Associate Administrator, Office of Spectrum Management, National Telecommunications and Information Administration

11:10 a.m. Subcommittee Status Reports and Discussion

11:10 a.m. Mark Crosby and Jennifer Warren, Spectrum Inventory Subcommittee
11:25 a.m. Rick Reaser, Incentives Subcommittee
11:40 a.m. David Donovan, Adjacent Band/Dynamic Spectrum Access Subcommittee
11:55 a.m. Darrin Mylet, Transparency Subcommittee

12:10 p.m. Opportunity for Public Comment

12:30 p.m. Schedule Next Meeting; Misc. Items; Adjourn