#Solutions2020 Policy Forum Hosted by FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn

Federal Communications Commission, Institute for Public Representation -- Georgetown University Law Center, Benton Foundation
October 19, 2016
1:00 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.
Participant bios

1:00 p.m. Brief Welcome from FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn

1:05 p.m. – 1:45 p.m. Lightning Round 1: Bridging the Affordability Gap
Moderator: Dr. Nicol Turner-Lee, Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council

Pitch Participants:

  • Chike Aguh, CEO, EveryoneOn
  • Bryan Mercer, Executive Director, Media Mobilizing Project
  • Anne Schwieger, Broadband and Digital Equity Advocate, City of Boston Dept. of Innovation & Technology
  • Diane Smith, Founder & CEO, American Rural

1:50 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Panel Discussion: Ushering in the Next Chapter of Broadband and Health
Moderator: Dr. Chris Gibbons, The Greystone Group, Inc. and Senior Consultant, Connect2HealthFCC Task Force


  • Justin Sims, Co-CEO & President, Voxiva Inc.
  • Fenly Davis, Program Strategist, C Spire
  • Kerry McDermott, MPH, Vice President, Public Policy and Communications, Center for Medical Interoperability
  • Ellis Lindsay, Senior Principal of Internet of Things Strategy, Corporate Strategy and Development Group, Nokia Corporation

2:35 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Lightning Round 2: Combating Inequality in the Communications Sector
Moderator: Commissioner Ronald Brisé, Florida Public Service Commission

Pitch Participants:

  • Loris Taylor (Hopi Nation), President/CEO, Native Public Media Inc.
  • Monica Martinez, Advisor, Mobile Future
  • Paul Wright, Director, Human Rights Defense Center
  • Dave Power, President and CEO, Perkins School for the Blind

3:35 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Keynote Remarks from Commissioner Mignon Clyburn

4:05 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. Lightning Round 3: Digital Inclusion in the 21st Century
Moderator: Adam Clayton Powell, III, USC Annenberg Center on Communication Leadership and Policy, University of Southern California

Pitch Participants:

  • David Cerullo, Chairman & CEO, INSP, LLC
  • Ravi Kapur, Founder & CEO, DiyaTV & Major Market Broadcasting
  • Jouelzy, Content Creator/Writer
  • Dr. Kimberly Scott, Executive Director & Associate Professor, Center for Gender Equity in Science and Technology, Arizona State University
  • Dr. Kevin Clark, Ph.D., Professor of Learning Technologies and Founding Director of the Center for Digital Media Innovation and Diversity, George Mason University

4:30 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. Lightning Round 4: Unlocking the 5G Revolution
Moderator: Laura Moy, Visiting Assistant Professor, Georgetown Law

Pitch Participants:

  • Gary Jabara, CEO, Mobilitie
  • Mike Kilgore, Vice President, Rural Wireless Association, Inc. and General Manager & CEO, Sagebrush Cellular and Nemont Telephone Cooperative
  • Renee Gregory, Senior Policy Advisor, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Michael Mattmiller, Chief Technology Officer, City of Seattle
  • Jay English, Public Safety Program Manager, National Coordinating Center for Communications, U.S. Department of Homeland Security