Nominations Hearing for FTC Commissioners

Senate Commerce Committee
Nov 15 2011
2:30 PM

The Senate Commerce Committee will hold a full committee hearing on the nominations of Jon Leibowitz and Maureen Ohlhausen, to be Federal Trade Commissioners. Leibowitz’s nomination is for reappointment as FTC chairman.

Witness Panel 1

Mr. Jon D. Leibowitz
to be Federal Trade Commissioner (Reappointment)

Ms. Maureen K. Ohlhausen
to be Federal Trade Commissioner

Maureen K. Ohlhausen is an attorney at Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP, where she is a partner in the firm’s privacy, data protection, and cybersecurity practice. Previously, she worked at the Business Software Alliance as Technology Policy Council. From 1997 to 2008, she served at the Federal Trade Commission in a number of leadership roles, including as Director of the Office of Policy Planning and, earlier, as an attorney advisor for Commissioner Orson Swindle. Earlier in her career, Ms. Ohlhausen worked at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit as a law clerk for Judge David Sentelle and clerked for Judge Robert Yock of the U.S. Court of Federal Claims. She is also a senior editor of the American Bar Association Antitrust Law Journal and has taught privacy law and unfair trade practices as an adjunct professor at George Mason University School of Law. Ms. Ohlhausen received a B.A. from the University of Virginia and a J.D. from George Mason University School of Law.