HIT Standards Committee

Department of Health & Human Services
Holiday Inn-Capitol
550 C Street, SW
Washington, DC
November 19, 2009
9am to 5pm EST


9:00 a.m. CALL TO ORDER
Judy Sparrow, Office of the National Coordinator

9:05 a.m. Comments from the National Coordinator
David Blumenthal, MD, MPP, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

9:15 a.m. Overview of Meeting
Jonathan Perlin, Chair
John Halamka, Vice Chair

9:20 a.m. Implementation Workgroup Update & Review of Adoption Experience Hearing
Aneesh Chopra, Chair, Implementation Workgroup
Judy Murphy, Workgroup Member
Cris Ross, Workgroup Member

10:30 a.m. HIT Security Issues, Challenges, Threats, and Solutions - Overview of the Security Issues Hearing
Dixie Baker, Chair, Privacy & Security Workgroup

10:45 a.m. Systems Stability and Reliability
Roger Baker and Steph Warren, Chief Information Officer and Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Office of Information & Technology, Department of Veterans Affairs
Ryan Smith, Assistant Vice President eBusiness, Intermountain Healthcare
Paul Connelly, Chief Information Security Officer, Hospital Corporation of America
Lee Olson, Chief Information Security Officer, Mayo Clinic

12:00 p.m. LUNCH BREAK

12:45 p.m. Cybersecurity
Lisa Gallagher, Senior Director of Privacy & Security, HIMSS
Peter Tippett, Vice President Research & Technology, Verizonbusiness
David Cochran, CEO, Vermont Information Technology Leaders
Gerald Masson, Director, Information Security Institute, Johns Hopkins University

2:00 p.m. Data Theft, Loss, and Misuse
Michael Mellor, Deputy Chief Information Security Officer, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Joanne Conroy, Chief Health Care Officer, Association of American Medical Colleges
Soumitra Sengupta, Information Security Officer, NY Presbyterian Hospital
Rodney Cain, CEO, Healthbridge

3:15 p.m. BREAK

3:30 p.m. Building Trust
Alain Sheer, Bureau of Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission
Chad Skidmore, Inland Northwest Health Services
J. Brent Williams, Chief Technology Officer, Anakam, Inc.
Thomas Hardjono, The Kerberos Consortium, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

4:45 p.m. Public Comment

5:00 p.m. Adjourn