24th Annual Everett C. Parker Ethics in Telecommunications Lecture

The takes place Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006, at 11:45 a.m. at the National Press Club, 529 Fourteenth Street NW, Washington, D.C.

The event is sponsored by OC, Inc. and the Telecommunications Research and Action Center (TRAC). It includes a luncheon.

This year’s Parker Lecturer is Amy Goodman, host and executive producer of Democracy Now!

Honorees include:

Katherine Grincewich, Associate General Counsel of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, recipient of the Parker Award. The award is given in recognition of an individual whose work embodies the principles and values of the public interest in telecommunications.

Randall Pinkston, CBS News, recipient of the Donald H. McGannon Award. The McGannon Award is given in recognition of special contributions in advancing the roles of women and persons of color in the media.

Ken McEldowney, Executive Director of Consumer Action, recipient of the Consumer Education Leadership Award. This award is given in recognition of efforts to educate and enable consumers to use technology as a toll of empowerment.

The Everett C. Parker Ethics in Telecommunications Lecture was created in 1982 to recognize OC, Inc. founder the Rev. Dr. Everett C. Parker and his pioneering work as an advocate for the public's rights in broadcasting. It is the only lecture in the country to examine telecommunications and the digital age from an ethical perspective. Past speakers include network presidents, Congressional leaders, FCC chairs and commissioners, as well as academics, cable and telephone executives and journalists. It is funded by the communications industry, particularly broadcasters, along with the communications offices of major faith groups.

Ticket information: contact John Breyault at TRAC 202.263.2943; e-mail: [email protected]