Consumer Advisory Committee Meeting

Federal Communications Commission
Friday, October 14, 2016

At its October 14, 2016 meeting, the Committee is expected to consider a recommendation from its No Surprise Billing Task Force regarding the clarity of charges at point of sale and on bills. The Committee will also receive briefings from Commission staff on issues of interest to the Committee.


8:30 Continental Breakfast & Networking

9:00 Welcome & Call to Order
Debra Berlyn, CAC Chairperson

9:05 Introductions & Meeting Logistics
Debra Berlyn, Scott Marshall, CAC DFO, Beau Finley, CAC Deputy DFO

9:30 Remarks of Chairman Tom Wheeler

9:45 Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB) Update
Mark Stone, Deputy Bureau Chief, CGB
Karen Peltz Strauss, Deputy Bureau Chief, CGB

10:15 Special Presentations

10:25 Break

10:45 Lifeline Developments and Outreach
Garnet Hanly, Special Counsel, Telecommunications Access Policy Division, Wireline Competition Bureau

11:05 Update on August Technology Transition Order & September Workshop
Peter Saharko, Assistant Chief, Competition Policy Division, Wireline Competition Bureau

11:30 Introducing the Task Force on Optimal Public Safety Answering Point Architecture and the Transition to NG911
David Furth, Deputy Bureau Chief, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

12:00 Lunch available in Commission Meeting Room

1:00 EAS National Test Update
Gregory Cooke, Associate Division Chief, Policy Division, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau

1:20 Remarks of Commissioner Mignon Clyburn

1:30 From 4G to 5G Wireless: What Does It Mean for Consumers?
Paul Powell, Assistant Division Chief, Mobility Division, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau

1:50 Report & Recommendation of the No Surprise Billing Task Force
Ed Bartholme & Debra Berlyn, Co-chairs

2:20 Comments from the Public

2:25 Renewal of CAC Charter
Scott Marshall & Beau Finley

2:30 Adjournment